Sluman, Funk team up for Legends of Golf title

...Mo. - Jeff Sluman and Fred Funk teamed to win the Champions Tour's Legends of Golf on Sunday, and Jim Colbert and Jim Thorpe topped the Legends Division for players 65 and older.Sluman and Funk finished with 6-under 48 at Top of the Rock...

Mitchell-Fletcher a marquee matchup

...Texas, -- Wisconsin cornerback Jamar Fletcher, the Jim Thorpe Award winner as the nation's top defensive back, insists...been humble leading up the Sun Bowl. On winning the Jim Thorpe Award, he said: "I was shocked. Just to be up for...

Top athletes of the century

...place vote through one point for a 100th place vote: Pts 1. Babe Ruth (5) 1551 2. Michael Jordan (4) 1524 3. Jim Thorpe (3) 1471 4. Muhammad Ali (2) 1462 5. Wayne Gretzky 1368 6. Jim Brown 1333 7. Joe Louis (1) 1327 8. Jesse Owens...

Other sports
SEC notes: Donnan believes Bailey will carry Thorpe Award

The Heisman talk has subsided, but Champ Bailey is still strong candidate for the Jim Thorpe Award, which goes annually to the nation's top defensive back. Georgia coach Jim Donnan expects his junior cornerback/wideout...

College notes: Former Josey player a finalist for award

...safety at Tennessee, is among three finalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, presented annually to the nation's top defensive...against Kentucky. The Thorpe Award, presented by the Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City, will be presented Dec...

ESPN picks Jordan as No. 1

...the century. Rounding out the ESPN top 10 were Babe Ruth, Muhammad Ali, Jim Brown, Wayne Gretzky, Jesse Owens, Jim Thorpe, Willie Mays, Jack Nicklaus and Babe Didrikson Zaharias. Twenty-five of the 48 people on the panel selecting the...

Other sports
Michaux: Jim Dent won't forget a man like Pete Brown

...the ones left are getting older and less visible. Dent is 75 and has been retired from the Champions Tour since 2010. Jim Thorpe is 66 and only plays occasionally on the senior circuit. Chuck Thorpe is 68. Lee Elder is 80. Charlie Owens is 85...

Cecil Meares

...death in 1990. He had several articles printed in magazines. Being 1/4 Creek Indian, he was chosen for a part in the Jim Thorpe movie that was filmed in his home town of Muskogee, Okla. He loved riding the bus with the stars, Burt Lancaster and...

Auburn's Rogers is tops in secondary

...national title this year. But at least he can take one trophy back home with him. The Butler High School graduate won the Jim Thorpe Award for best collegiate defensive back in the nation on Thursday night. "I put a lot of effort into this season...

College | Butler High School
Ginn wins final Senior major of year

...major of the year. Ginn finished at 14 under to win by one stroke and capture his first victory on the Senior PGA Tour. Jim Thorpe had the best day with a 65 and closed at 13 under along with Hubert Green and third-round leader Mike McCullough...