UGA Week: Masters is dear to Compton's hearts

...months after his surgery.His courage and perseverance earned him the Ben Hogan Award in 2009 from the Golf Writers Association of America, bringing him to Augusta for the presentation at the annual banquet. For the first time since 1999 while...

Watney is returning to his old form after forgettable year

...winner. PRESSEL HONORED: Morgan Pressel has been selected to receive the Charlie Bartlett Award from the Golf Writers Association of America, given to a professional for unselfish contributions to the betterment of society.She is being honored...


...the second consecutive Ryder Cup that the U.S. gets a repeat captain.? Morgan Pressel received the Golf Writers Association of America's Charlie Barlett Award, given to a pro player who makes unselfish contributions to society. CyclingContador...

Ian Poulter puts emphasis back on his putting after reviewing statistics

...spent 18 years at The Associated Press and was the golf writer.He will be honored April 8 at the annual Golf Writers Association of America awards dinner in Augusta

Players warned about throwing items into crowd in Phoenix

...a winner ? at least with the media.He was voted to receive the ASAP Sports/Jim Murray Award by the Golf Writers Association of America for his cooperation with the media.In other awards, the GWAA voted to give Jarrod Lyle the Ben Hogan...

McIlroy, Langer, Lewis named players of the year by golf writers group

...Rory McIlroy and Bernhard Langer were runaway winners as the top male and senior player of the year by the Golf Writers Association of America. Stacy Lewis won a tighter race in a more crowded field of contestants for female player of the year...

16th hole is center of attention at Phoenix Open

...average of $46,000. ALLENBY HONORED: Robert Allenby will receive the Charlie Bartlett Award from the Golf Writers Association of America, given annually to a player whose unselfish contributions have improved society.Perhaps the best face...

Golf writers to honor Duke, McDowell, Glenn

The Golf Writers Association of America is honoring Ken Duke for his perseverance, Graeme McDowell for his accommodation and insight with the media, and Rhonda Glenn...

Masters winner Adam Scott edges Tiger Woods for player of year honors

...Tournament champion Adam Scott narrowly beat out Tiger Woods as the male player of the year in voting by the Golf Writers Association of America.The GWAA takes into account more than just a player's performance on the PGA Tour.Scott won four times...

Michaux: Picking top golfer a difficult task this year

...stymied at the ballot box.Never before has the choice been this difficult to make.For the first time, the Golf Writers Association of America ballot includes four players in the male Player of the Year category ? Tiger Woods, Adam Scott, Phil Mickelson...