Lakeside football team embraces expectations

...6-foot-5, 285-pound junior Scout Sleigh.Defensively, the Panthers should be stout, led by 2013 Region 2-AAAAA Defensive Player of the Year Rashad Roundtree."Overall, they're a solid group and you throw in some of those big playmakers...

Five-star ranking no longer of use to Georgia's Lorenzo Carter

...sit down and talk to them whenever I want."Carter had his first chance to talk at Georgia Tuesday when freshmen defensive players were made available. His first game action in the red and black comes on Aug. 30 against Clemson.

Two Georgia football players miss practice with injuries

One of Georgia's top defensive players and a top newcomer missed practice time Monday because of injuries.First-team All-South eastern Conference pick Ramik Wilson...

U.S. cuts basketball roster to 16 players

...coach Mike Krzyzewski said, noting that George could have played some power forward."Paul is one of the great defensive players in the league," Krzyzewski added. "So earlier in the week we had talked ? he had even come up to me and said...

Georgia's Amarlo Herrera odd man out on watch lists

...won't be found on the 81-player Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, or the 76-man Bednarik Award list for top defensive player, or the 51-player Butkus Award list for top linebacker. He's the odd man out during a summer when Bulldog linebackers...

Georgia has depth, talent at tailback

...Officials say defensive end Devonte Fields remains "separated" from the university, meaning the preseason Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year is still barred from campus and all school activities.In July, Fields surrendered to authorities on...

Panthers striving to be NFL's No. 1 defense

...last season he sees plenty of room for improvement.Kuechly, the team's middle linebacker and last year's AP Defensive Player of the Year, points to early season losses to Seattle and Buffalo in which Carolina gave up late touchdowns...

Clemson's Charone Peake suffers setback

...authorities Thursday afternoon and was released a short time later after posting bond of $3,500.The Big 12 preseason defensive player of the year hasn't been formally charged but has been accused of a Class A misdemeanor assault, which would be...

Big names still on NFL's unemployment line

...with the Jets.? Harrison was a menace to quarterbacks who frequently was fined for illegal hits. The 2008 NFL Defensive Player of the Year had a reduced role in his one season in Cincinnati.? Finley's career was in jeopardy when he suffered...

Former South Carolina star Jadeveon Clowney limited as Texans open camp

...a lot of work to do," Clowney said. "Just keep getting better and better each day."He'll pair with 2012 Defensive Player of the Year J.J. Watt to beef up Houston's already solid pass rush.Clowney missed Houston's minicamp because...